Can I get a Witness: Being a Minority in Today’s Generation

Image result for minorities

                What does it mean to be black? As a matter of fact what does it mean, in general, to be a minority in today’s society? Does it mean you fear for your life every time you see cop in your review mirror, is it when you have to explain over and over that your hair is real, or is it when people doubt your capabilities and destroy the confidence you built for yourself that shinned, “Yes I can”? When I was told I was going to record my life and write about it, I hoped it would bend its way around race topics, but as it seems I simply cannot run away from it. Everything I see and hear talks about race so I’ll give the world what it wants, my experience and the brutal truth.

September 16, 2015

Discussed issues on race with friends at dinner. Topics mainly about the 9th grader who was arrested for a clock.

September 18, 2015

Went on Facebook to browse and stumbled across a Donald trump video. All he does is talk about race (minorities)

September 19, 2015

Watched the Emmy’s. I’m very proud of Viola Davis for being the first African American woman to win a primetime Emmy.

September 20, 2015

Scrolling through twitter and stumble upon a twitter war against Nancy Lee Grahn and her comment towards Viola’s speech. “..She has never been discriminated against.”

September 21, 2015

Watched a video on about racism. A woman named Jane Elliot conducts an experiment about discrimination based on eye color.

September 22, 2015

Mom calls to make sure I’m making friends of color. Mainly so that I feel comfortable.

The first day of recording I had no idea what I was going to talk about, so I decided to wait it out and hopefully notice something interesting about myself. Then suddenly, September 16, a boy came up to a friend of mine at dinner and started to discuss topics on race. The boy talked about how he rights rants on twitter about racial discrimination against the innocent. For example, the young boy who was accused of building a bomb and sent to jail. This poor boy was targeted only because he was Muslim! This is simply outrageous, and then the news, like always, changes the topic after only a few days. I wish people would look at the bigger issue here, it is not all about black and white it is about every minority in America being targeted for some type of crime.

http://www.cnn.com/2015/09/16/us/texas-student-ahmed-muslim-clock-bomb/

On the third day, September 18, I was scrolling through my Facebook feed and stumbled across the oh so famous Donald Trump, and believe me I always roll my eyes when I see him anywhere. Unfortunately, one of the topics about Donald trump caught my attention. In the video a Trump supporter stated, “..The problem in America is Muslims…Our President is one.”  As you watch the video Trump is nodding his head like he is agreeing with the man! I hope we all know that Obama is mixed race, black and white, and Christian. Even if Obama was Muslim it shouldn’t be a problem, but the way the world is now that would never happen.

September 20 I was scrolling through Twitter and noticed there was a back and forth war about the lovely Viola Davis’s speech during the Emmy’s. Her famous quote was, “The only thing that separates women of color from anyone else is opportunity..” this quote touched the hearts of many, but not everyone understood what she meant. A soap opera actress named Nancy Lee Grahn tweeted, “..She was never discriminated in the workplace.” That one statement caused a twitter war. This shows how unaware people are for the struggle of opportunity. Viola Davis was standing up for ALL black women in the work force and the struggles they face to achieve.untitled (3)

After more and more topics of race started to pop up on my Facebook and Twitter feed I started to wonder where else I would be exposed to it. Then on September 21 I was watching random videos on YouTube and saw the tab, “Suggested for you”, and saw it was an experimental video on race.  I clicked on the video and watched the full hour of it and was amazed. The experimenter Jane Elliot tried to explain why discrimination by skin color was wrong, and in her experiment she did a discrimination test based on eye color. In the video the blue eyes were being discriminated by the brown eyes, and the blue eyes felt that they were being mistreated and demanded respect. This was Jane Elliot’s goal, but a good majority of the group didn’t agree that racism was a problem in society. I start to wonder if people choose to be blind to the issues of racism in the world. Does it scare them, intimidate, or confuse them? Maybe they are trying to escape the reality in order to live peacefully.

Overall with all of the field notes I collected my filter bubble only lets in what I would be interested in, and that is topics about race. How this happened I have no idea, but what I do know is that racism in America is a problem. There are those who don’t see racism as an issue and simply call it a double standard, but honestly racism isn’t going anywhere. Why? because it is almost impossible to change the mind of a bigot. What I hope to see one day is communities of minorities coming together to support and love each other.  You cannot eliminate racism in a day, but maybe we can open the eyes of those who aren’t aware of these issues and to do something about it. Nothing will get done if we do not try, and I truly believe in that. To start we an reach out to local schools and talk about how they can make a difference on campus. Power lies in the hands of the next generations, but it is up to us to make sure that our knowledge reaches them.

(Dancok.Deviantart.com)

Leave a Reply

