My Person

The Phrase Coined by Grey’s Anatomy

        My person is a phrase/term that is now becoming more and more popular. The phrase first came up because of the unique relationship between two characters – Cristina Yang and Meredith Grey, they are the leading actress’s in “Grey’s Anatomy”. GreysIn the show the two have an amazing friendship that viewers can relate to.  “My person” is the one friend who you could go to for anything, the one person who values your well-being over their own, and the one person who is like a sister to you. Many of you that have just read that sentence automatically thought of a friend that is very dear to you. That is one thing that is important about this concept, most people can easily identify with it. So when researching information about this concept I couldn’t merely open up a page on Wikipedia that would tell me all the ins and outs, instead I had a little help.

         A couple months ago when I had finally begun to settle into my dorm I received a text from my best friend, it wasCionci a link to an article that almost brought me to tears. The article was titled “A Letter to My Person” and written by Erika Cionci. The author explains what the phrase means and then goes on to thank her person for everything she has done, in doing so the audience gets a closer look in understanding what it means to be someone’s person. At the beginning Cionci includes a quote from the show to prove her credibility through ethos, to capture the relationship between Cristina and Meredith, and to catch the reader’s attention. “If I murdered someone, she’s the person I’d call to help me drag the corpse across the living room floor. She’s my person.” The quote is easily my favorite quote from the show because it just explains how deep a friendship can become. Then throughout the entirety of the article the author uses a lot of emotional appeal, or pathos, to help us understand just how important our people are to us, “So thank you for being there for me through it all – the good, the bad, and the really ugly. When I’ve gone through some of my worst days, you were there”. The same is true for all of us that have a person, in times of despair our person is always here for us, whether that be emotionally or physically, they are there. Like in a time of need MyCloudexpressed by Ash Beckam in her speech about finding the courage to open up. Then at the end of her article she includes a link to her blog which exhibits logos. Through the context of the article Cionci’s work of rhetoric is merely trying to persuade her person just how grateful she is and trying to explain to us, the audience, just how important our people are to us. So in understanding the article we are able to grasp a sense of what the concept of “my person” actually means.Greys 2

 

 My Person

             Cionci’s main objective is to persuade us to thank our people just as she did. Now that may mean her page/blogMad n me 2 is shared and spread throughout the world, but it will also mean it is serving a greater purpose.Mad n me 5 Just the simple act of my best friend sharing this article with me uplifted me and made me feel so much better because at the end of the day I may be a struggling freshman, an insecure teenager, and a bit of a weirdo, but I know for sure that I am someone else’s person and that is one title I am more than honored to have. I am her person, and she is mine, this article made me realize that I couldn’t live my life without her. Without her being my person I wouldn’t have nearly as many crazy stories to tell, one being the time we rode down the stairs together in a laundry basket that was padded down with clothes because we thought it would brace our fall. Without her I wouldn’t have had someone to lean on when my fish died, or when my boyfriend and I broke up, or when my grandfather was in the hospital. Without her I wouldn’t know what a true friendship actually is, one that is free of judgement and full of love. Without her I wouldn’t know what it is like to have a guaranteed future, because I know that when were old and gray we will be sipping on our Malibu and Mad n me 3recounting our many memories we’ve made together. Without her I wouldn’t know what it’s like to have a partner in crime, someone to do the crazy things with me that no one else ever would.Mad n me Without her I wouldn’t know what it is like to have someone you’re completely compatible with, like chocolate and peanut butter or bon fires and s’mores. Lastly, without her I wouldn’t be me, I wouldn’t be who I am today. Cionci recognizes all of what I just mentioned in her article and that is why it is persuasive, because it influences us to be grateful for that person that we each have in our life.

Mad n me 6mad n me 7

 

Leave a Reply

